QuickBooks is a top-rated accounting software which comes with various tools and features. You can also integrate with many third-party applications like Timesheet to increase productivity and efficiency for your business. In this blog post, we will show you how easy it is to switch between QuickBooks single-user and multi-user mode. You are reading the most detailed guide available on this type.

We understand that sometimes these steps and guides are not helpful enough. Not everyone is comfortable with implementing changes to the default settings of QuickBooks. We highly recommend that you get in touch with the Intuit certified QuickBooks ProAdvisors of errorsupportnumber. Dial the toll-free QuickBooks Support Number +1877-277-3228 to connect with our experts. If you have any questions about QuickBooks or need any help with any features of it then just get in touch with us.

Enough of the services that we provide let us get down to the content that you are looking for. QuickBooks allows you to easily switch between single user mode and multi user mode for accessing the company data file. But the numbers of users that can have access for the company data file depends upon the number of user licenses that you have purchased.

If you want to purchase user licenses for your QuickBooks, get in touch with our sales team.

Difference Between The Features of Single And Multi-User Mode

There are many differences between both the user modes. Check out the tables which are given below to learn more. You can choose the user mode as per your requirements.

Company File Operations

Tasks/Features Single-user mode Multi-user mode
Create Local Backup Yes Yes
Set up/Activate Online Backup Yes Yes
Create Portable Company File Yes No
Convert Company File Yes Yes
Repair File and Network Problems Yes Yes
Stop Hosting Multi-user Access Yes Yes
Disable QuickBooks Manager No Yes
Verify Data Yes Yes*
Rebuild Data Yes No
Condense Data (US only) Yes No
Update Web Services Yes Yes
Copy company file for QuickBooks Online Yes No

Note: The verify and rebuild utility can be used in multi-user mode but you can’t work on the files during the period.

Managing Lists

Tasks/Features Single-user mode Multi-user mode
Chart of Accounts Yes Yes/No*
Items list Yes Yes/No*
Other Names list Yes Yes
Customer & Vendor Type list Yes Yes
Price Levels/Price Rules Yes Yes
Templates Yes Yes
To Do Yes Yes
Add/Edit Multiple List Entries Yes Yes

Merging of data in multi-user mode is not allowed while adding, editing or removing the list data.

Importing/Exporting data

Tasks/Features Single-user mode Multi-user mode
Import Excel Files Yes Yes
Advanced Import Yes No
Import IIF Yes Yes*
Import WebConnect Files Yes Yes
Import Timer Activities Yes No
Import General Journal Entries Yes Yes
Export Lists to IIF Files Yes No
Export Addresses to Text File Yes Yes
Export Timer Lists Yes No

It is possible import the IIF files in QuickBooks Pro/Premier/Enterprise 2019.

Business Process/workflow

Tasks/Features Single-user mode Multi-user mode
Custom reporting Yes Yes
Set Closing Date Yes No
Set up Budget Yes Yes
Set up Forecast Yes Yes
Cash Flow Projector Yes Yes
Use Business Plan Tool Yes Yes
Manage Fixed Assets (US only) Yes No
Enter Vehicle Mileage Yes Yes
Prepare Letters with Envelopes Yes Yes
Enter customer transactions Yes Yes
Enter Statement Charges Yes Yes
Create Statements Yes Yes
Assess Finance Charges Yes No*
Enter Time Yes Yes
Income Tracker Yes Yes
Lead Center Yes Yes
Change Item price Yes Yes
Vendor Center Yes Yes
Enter vendor transactions Yes Yes
1099 Wizard (US only) Yes No
1099 Report (US only) Yes Yes
Create Checks/Checks Yes Yes
Order Checks/Checks Yes Yes
Reconciliation Yes Yes
Set up Bank Feeds Yes Yes
Change Bank Feeds mode (US only) Yes No
Reports center Yes Yes
Memorized reports Yes Yes
Scheduled reports Yes No
Commented reports Yes Yes
Advanced reporting (US only) No Yes
Process multiple reports Yes Yes
QuickBooks Statement Writer Yes Yes
Combined Reports Yes Yes

It is not possible set up finance charges for the first time while being in Multi-user mode.

Accountant-related tasks

Tasks/Features Single-user mode Multi-user mode
Create Accountant’s Copy Yes No
Save Accountant’s Copy Yes No
Send Accountant’s Copy to accountants Yes No
Send Company file, create portable file Yes No
Accounting Tools Yes Yes
Batch Delete/Void Transactions Yes No
Batch Enter Transactions Yes Yes

Employee and payroll activities

Tasks/Features Single-user mode Multi-user mode
Employee Center Yes Yes
Payroll Setup (Manual Payroll) Yes No
Pay with Direct Deposit (US only) Yes Yes

Preferences

Tasks/Features Single-user mode Multi-user mode
Accounting Yes Yes/No*
Bills Yes Yes/No*
Calendar Yes Yes/No*
Checking/Checking Yes Yes/No*
Desktop View Yes Yes/No*
Finance Charge Yes Yes/No*
General Yes Yes/No*
Integrated Applications Yes Yes/No*
Items & Inventory Yes Yes/No*
Jobs & Estimates Yes Yes/No*
Multiple Currencies Yes Yes/No*
Payments Yes Yes/No*
Payroll & Expenses Yes Yes/No*
Reminders Yes Yes/No*
Reports & Graphs Yes Yes/No*
Sales & Customers Yes Yes/No*
Sales Tax Yes Yes/No*
Search Yes Yes/No*
Send Forms Yes Yes/No*
Service Connection Yes Yes/No*
Spelling Yes Yes/No*
Tax: 1099 (US only) Yes Yes/No*
Time & Expenses Yes Yes/No*

You can edit the My Preferences window but not the Company Preferences.

Print/Email Tasks

Tasks/Features Single-user mode Multi-user mode
Printer Setup Yes Yes
Print forms Yes Yes
Send forms Yes Yes
Shipping Label (US only) Yes Yes

Others

Tasks/Features Single-user mode Multi-user mode
Synchronize contacts Yes Yes
Set up QuickBooks ODBC Yes Yes
Use Register Yes Yes
Use Calculator Yes Yes
Find Yes Yes
Search Yes Yes
Customize Favorites Yes Yes
Bulk enter company business details Yes Yes
Reminders Yes Yes
Alerts Manager Yes Yes
QuickBooks Messenger Yes Yes

How To Switch Between Single User Mode And Multi-User Mode?

As we said earlier, you are free to switch between single-user mode and multi-user mode whenever you want as per your business requirements. Just follow the steps given below to switch between both the modes:

  • Open your QuickBooks and head to the main menu.
  • Now, click on the File option.
  • In the drop-down menu, head down to Utilities.
  • Now, you can switch between Single-user Mode/Switch To Multi-user Mode.

Note: QuickBooks multi-user mode has some limitations like you cannot use Payroll and Bank feeds in it. These features are only available in single-user mode.

Contact Us For Technical Support

We hope that you found this article useful and learnt something new about QuickBooks today. Follow our blog for more such informative posts and guides. If you ever face any issue while switching between both the user modes or need assistance with the process then dial the toll-free QuickBooks Support Phone Number +1877-277-3228 without hesitating.

We are one of the highest rated QuickBooks Tech Support service provider based out of New Jersey, USA. You can also connect with us by using the QuickBooks Live Chat support which is available on errorsupportnumber. We are looking forward to talk to you.

Features Of QuickBooks Single-User And Multi-User Mode

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *